Past Award Recipients
Share |

The Society gives two awards for distinguished contributions to psychophysiology:



The Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychophysiology is the highest honor given by the Society for Psychophysiological Research. It is given to an individual to recognize a sustained and distinguished contribution to Psychophysiology. It is awarded by the Senior Award Committee which consists of the Past President, the President and the President-Elect. Nominations for the award can be made by members of the Society and submitted to the President. This committee determines each year whether and to whom any such awards shall be made.

View the winners from previous years.


The Early Career Award is given to a member of SPR who has made noteworthy contributions to the field of psychophysiology. The period of eligibility is 8 years following completion of doctoral training. Nominations are sought annually from SPR members.

View the winners from previous years.


Each year at the annual conference, three posters authored by students are chosen for the Student Poster Award.

View the poster winners from previous years.

Research Training Grant

Check back for updates regarding applications for 2019.
Closed: May 1, 2018, for funding to begin early September 2018.

The Education and Training Committee and the Committee to Promote Student Interests are pleased to announce that SPR will once again provide Research Fellowship Training Awards. The award will allow students or postdocs to obtain mentorship/training in psychophysiological assessment/analysis with experts in the field, which they could not get at their home institution. This could involve travel to a remote site or travel expenses for a remote mentor to visit the applicant’s lab. Each applicant may include a budget of up to $5,000.00 U.S. (although smaller budgeted applications are encouraged and would allow for more applications to be funded). Up to $500 of these funds can be used to defray SPR conference travel costs. Applications are short (3-5 pages) but require that applicants, mentors and proposed training sponsors also submit biosketches.

Recipients will be announced at the Saturday Business Luncheon at the SPR annual meeting in Minneapolis. The deadline for applications will be May 1, 2018. Award notices will be sent via email beginning June 1, 2018. If additional funds are available after June 1, 2018, a second application announcement will be made. Award notices will be sent within one month of this second announcement. Awardees will also be recognized at the Saturday Business Luncheon during the annual SPR meeting.

Eligibility: Preference for the award will be given to applicants, their current mentors and their proposed training sponsors who are active members of SPR, or who have a history of affiliation with SPR (e.g., previous membership, attendance at previous SPR meetings). However, all students or postdocs interested in obtaining mentorship/training in psychophysiology are encouraged to apply.

2017 Recipients:

  • Heather Soder, University of South Florida, USA
  • Matthias Sperl, University of Marburg, Germany
  • Martin Hochheimer, University of Würzburg, Germany
  • Hannah Lawrence, University of Maine, USA

Dr. Jason Moser
Michigan State University, Department of Psychology
110B Psychology Building, East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-2159

©2018 Society For Psychophysiological Research. All Rights Reserved  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Jobs  |  Contact Us